

Report

TITLE: REGIONAL SUBDIVISION AND DEVELOPMENT APPEAL BOARD AND ASSESSMENT REVIEW BOARDS - MEMBERSHIP AND CLERKS

Meeting: Council Meeting Meeting Date: May 7, 2025

Background

On April 22, 2025, Marge Gausvik, the current Clerk for the Flagstaff Regional Subdivision and Development Appeal Board the Assessment Review Boards, submitted her letter of resignation for the boards.

Appointing Clerks:

As stated in the agreements, the following is the process for appointing Clerks to the boards:

- 1. <u>Intermunicipal Assessment Review Board</u>: The Flagstaff County Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) shall employ both the Clerk and the Alternate Clerk. The Clerks must also be trained and be appointed by ALL member municipalities.
 - Lisa Bonnett has been appointed Clerk and Deb Brodie has been appointed Alternate Clerk for the Intermunicipal Assessment Review Boards. Note: Both have taken the required ARB Clerk training.
- 2. <u>Flagstaff Regional Subdivision and Development Appeal Board</u>: The CAO for Flagstaff County shall appoint an employee of Flagstaff County as a Clerk. The CAO for one of the other Municipalities, as agreed upon by the Municipalities, shall appoint an employee of that Municipality to act as an alternate Clerk.
 - Wanja Nordin has been appointed Clerk for the Flagstaff Regional Subdivision and Development Appeal Board. Administration will be working with the towns or villages to determine who will appoint an Alternate Clerk. Note: Wanja has taken the required SDAB Clerk training and the new Alternate Clerk, once appointed, will be taking the training as soon as possible.

Appointing Members to the Boards:

Upon review of the Membership Appointments, it was noted that a number of the appointments need to be renewed. Each Municipality shall by resolution of Council appoint Members. All appointed Members have taken the required Member training.

Currently, the following is the list of appointed members:

Intermunicipal Assessment Review Board (at least three board members are required for the Local Assessment Review Board, and at least two for the Composite Assessment Review Board)

- 1. Murray Hampshire expires May 2026
- 2. Debra Moffatt EXPIRED March 2024
- 3. Amy Jackson EXPIRED March 2024

Flagstaff Regional Subdivision and Development Appeal Board (minimum three board members required)

- 1. Murray Hampshire expires December 2026
- 2. Leslie Cholowsky EXPIRED December 2024
- 3. Debra Moffatt EXPIRED March 2024

Administration is recommending re-appointment of the Members with expired appointments. We will notify the other municipalities of the requirement to re-appoint Members.

Alignment with the Strategic Plan

LEADERSHIP: Flagstaff County's commitment to Leadership means we will ensure the reliability and continuity of Flagstaff County's administration and municipal operations.

Goal: Develop opportunities to strengthen regional collaboration. Objective Statement: We will prioritize the ongoing development of a regional network of neighbouring municipalities that identify shared priorities through convening forums and using other platforms that bring together leaders.

Recommendation

- 1. THAT Debra Moffatt and Amy Jackson be re-appointed to the Intermunicipal Assessment Review Boards for a three (3) year term expiring in May 2028.
- 2. THAT Leslie Cholowsky and Debra Moffatt be re-appointed to the Flagstaff Regional Subdivision and Development Appeal Board for a three (3) year term expiring in May 2028.