

Organizational Meeting

Minutes

Wednesday, October 23, 2024

Council Chambers of the Administration Building

Members Present: Reeve D. Kroetch, Division 5

Councillor R. Manning, Division 1 Councillor J. Eckstrand, Division 3 Councillor M. Thompson, Division 4 Councillor L. Hiller, Division 6 Councillor H. Shield, Division 7

Members Absent: Councillor M. Ponto, Division 2

Staff Present: Shelly Armstrong, Chief Administrative Officer

Deb Brodie, Corporate Services Director Karen Burnand, Community Services Director

Jon Dahl, Municipal Services Director

Cary Castagna, Communications Coordinator

Cheryl Bergman, Recording Secretary

1. CALL TO ORDER

S. Armstrong, Chief Administrative Officer called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m.

2. ELECTION OF REEVE AND OATH OF OFFICE

S. Armstrong requested nominations for the office of Reeve for the 2024/2025 term.

Clr. Shield nominated Clr. Kroetch.

S. Armstrong requested further nominations.

S. Armstrong requested further nominations.

Resolution # FC.ORG.20241023.1001

Moved By: Clr. Hiller

THAT nominations for the position of Reeve cease.

Carried

Resolution # FC.ORG.20241023.1002

Moved By: Clr. Shield

THAT Councillor Kroetch be appointed as Flagstaff County Reeve for the 2024-2025 term.

Carried

The Oath of Office was executed by Reeve Kroetch and is attached hereto and forms part of these minutes. Reeve Kroetch thanked Council and took the chair.

3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Resolution # FC.ORG.20241023.1003

Moved By: Clr. Thompson

THAT the agenda for the Organizational Meeting of October 23, 2024 be approved as presented.

Carried

4. BUSINESS

4.1 ELECTION OF DEPUTY REEVE AND OATH OF OFFICE

Reeve Kroetch requested nominations for the office of Deputy Reeve for the 2024/2025 term.

Clr. Manning nominated Clr. Shield.

Reeve Kroetch requested further nominations.

Reeve Kroetch requested further nominations.

Resolution # FC.ORG.20241023.1004

Moved By: Clr. Hiller

THAT nominations for the position of Deputy Reeve cease.

Carried

Resolution # FC.ORG.20241023.1005

Moved By: Clr. Thompson

THAT Councillor Shield be appointed as Flagstaff County Deputy Reeve for the 2024-2025 term.

Carried

The Oath of Office was executed by Deputy Reeve Shield and is attached hereto and forms part of these minutes.

4.2 CODE OF CONDUCT AND VALUES OF COUNCIL

Each Councillor stated portions of the Statement of Code of Ethics and Conduct and the Values of Council.

Resolution # FC.ORG.20241023.1006

Moved By: Clr. Hiller

THAT Council reconfirm the Council Code of Conduct Bylaw 08/18, the Statement of Code of Ethics and Conduct, and Values of Council.

Carried

4.3 APPOINTMENT OF BOARD AND COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

Council reviewed and discussed the list of Board and Committee representatives.

Resolution # FC.ORG.20241023.1007

Moved By: Clr. Shield

THAT the Board and Committee representatives be appointed for the 2024/2025 term as follows:

Boards:

Agricultural Service Board Members:

Councillors:

- Howard Shield
- Jeff Eckstrand
- Rick Manning

The four (4) members at large will have three (3) year terms and limited to two (2) consecutive terms:

- Vacant
- Cole McMahon
- Brenda Martin
- Steven Vincett

Agricultural Pests Act Appeal Committee

All Agricultural Service Board Members at large

Battle River Alliance for Economic Development (BRAED)

- Larry Hiller
- Mat Ponto (alternate)

Battle River Research Group (BRRG)

- Don Kroetch
- Melvin Thompson (alternate)

Diplomat Mine Museum Society

- Mat Ponto
- Jeff Eckstrand (alternate)

Flagstaff Family & Community Services (FFCS)

- Melvin Thompson
- Don Kroetch (alternate)

Flagstaff Regional Housing Group (FRHG)

- Larry Hiller
- Howard Shield
- Rick Manning (alternate)

Flagstaff Regional Solid Waste Management Association

- Jeff Eckstrand
- Larry Hiller (alternate)

Parkland Regional Library (PRL)

- Jeff Eckstrand
- Rick Manning (alternate)

Soil Conservation Appeal Board

All Council

Veterans Memorial Hwy Association

- Howard Shield
- Rick Manning (alternate)

Weed Control Appeal Committee

- Henry Hays
- James Brodie
- Roger Chevraux
- Bill Dietrich

Committee's of Council:

Building Committee

- Don Kroetch
- Melvin Thompson
- Howard Shield

Emergency Advisory Committee

- Reeve: Don Kroetch
- Deputy Reeve: Howard Shield

Special Committee's:

Battle River Economic Opportunities Committee (BREOC)

Mat Ponto

Battle River Watershed Alliance Land and Water Advisory Committee

- Howard Shield
- Melvin Thompson (alternate)

Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC)

- Melvin Thompson
- Rick Manning (alternate)

Flagstaff Healthcare Attraction Retention (FIHAR)

• Don Kroetch

Flagstaff Regional Emergency Services Society (FRESS)

- Howard Shield
- Melvin Thompson

Intermunicipal Collaboration Committees

- Don Kroetch
- Jeff Eckstrand
- Larry Hiller

Intermunicipal Planning Committee (Alliance, Heisler, Lougheed)

- Howard Shield
- Mat Ponto

Intermunicipal Planning Committee (Forestburg)

- Mat Ponto
- Melvin Thompson

Intermunicipal Planning Committee (Daysland)

- Howard Shield
- Don Kroetch

Intermunicipal Planning Committee (Hardisty)

- Rick Manning
- Larry Hiller

Intermunicipal Planning Committee (Killam)

- Melvin Thompson
- Jeff Eckstrand

Intermunicipal Planning Committee (Sedgewick)

- Jeff Eckstrand
- Larry Hiller

Intermunicipal Planning Committee (MD of Provost)

- Jeff Eckstrand
- Rick Manning

Carried

4.4 ELECTION OF ASB CHAIRPERSON

Reeve Kroetch called for nominations for the Agricultural Service Board Chairperson for the 2024/2025 term.

Clr. Thompson nominated Clr. Shield

Reeve Kroetch called for further nominations.

Reeve Kroetch called for further nominations.

Resolution # FC.ORG.20241023.1008

Moved By: Clr. Thompson

THAT nominations for Agricultural Service Board Chairperson cease.

Carried

Resolution # FC.ORG.20241023.1009

Moved By: Clr. Thompson

THAT CIr. Shield be appointed as Agricultural Service Board Chairperson for the 2024/2025 term.

Carried

4.5 ELECTION OF ASB VICE-CHAIRPERSON

Reeve Kroetch called for nominations for the Agricultural Service Board Vice-Chairperson for the 2024/2025 term.

Clr. Thompson nominated Clr. Eckstrand

Reeve Kroetch called for further nominations.

Reeve Kroetch called for further nominations.

Resolution # FC.ORG.20241023.1010

Moved By: Clr. Shield

THAT nominations for Agricultural Service Board Vice-Chairperson cease.

Carried

Resolution # FC.ORG.20241023.1011

Moved By: Clr. Thompson

THAT CIr. Eckstrand be appointed as Agricultural Service Board Vice-Chairperson for the 2024/2025 term.

Carried

5. ADJOURNMENT

The Reeve adjourned the meeting at 9:28 a.m.

	Reev

Chief Administrative Officer