#### **Marcy Newby**

From: Alberta News <alberta.news@gov.ab.ca>

**Sent:** April 26, 2024 2:33 PM **To:** Shelly Armstrong

**Subject:** News Release: Refreshed AER board to help lead Alberta's energy evolution

# Refreshed AER board to help lead Alberta's energy evolution

April 26, 2024 Media inquiries

To enhance competitiveness and strengthen the province's position as an energy leader, Alberta's government is restructuring the Alberta Energy Regulator's board of directors.

Four new directors with decades of industry experience have been appointed to the Alberta Energy Regulator's (AER) board of directors. The new members will support the board's work to enhance the global reputation of the AER in the oil and gas industry and the regulatory sector.

David Goldie, the current board chair will continue to serve in the role until Sept. 1, to support the transition of one of the new directors into the chair position. With these appointments, the board will consist of eight members (one non-voting), including the chair.

"As the energy industry evolves, it's important that regulatory processes keep pace. This requires the AER to have strong governance and a fresh perspective to carry out its mandate. The new directors all have strong technical subject matter expertise in important elements of the oil and gas, environment and regulatory sectors. They will help the AER enhance its reputation as an independent technical regulator. I also want to thank the outgoing board members for their valuable service to Albertans. They helped right the ship at the AER during a particularly complex time, and their efforts and dedication are to be lauded."

Brian Jean, Minister of Energy and Minerals

"As Alberta's regulator, the AER plays an important role in protecting the environment and ensuring that responsible energy development occurs at every project stage. The board of directors are a vital part of leading this work and I look forward to their leadership in service of Albertans."

#### Rebecca Schulz, Minister of Environment and Protected Areas

"I am excited about the opportunity to help the AER further its reputation as a world-leading regulator that promotes responsible development of our energy resources while protecting Albertans, their property and the environment. I look forward to working with the staff and leadership of the AER on fulfilling our important mission."

Duncan Au, incoming chair of the Alberta Energy Regulator Board of Directors

"It's been a privilege to serve the province as a member and chair of the AER board for the past five years. I've appreciated the opportunity to work in this vital role, helping to guide one of the world's foremost regulatory agencies. I'm especially proud of how the board helped the energy sector navigate through the worst pandemic the world has ever seen before the sector started a steady rebound. This experience will provide the new board with important learnings moving forward as the energy sector diversifies and evolves, continuing its legacy as a world leader in energy regulation."

David Goldie, chair of the Alberta Energy Regulator Board of Directors

The newly appointed board members will support AER's goal of continuous improvement, while also helping ensure public and environmental protections. They will help provide the certainty required by industry to responsibly develop Alberta's resources during a period of increasing complexity. These improvements will help attract more investment and create good jobs in the province.

### **Quick facts**

- The Alberta Energy Regulator's mandate is to provide for the efficient, safe, orderly and environmentally responsible development of energy and mineral resources in Alberta through their regulatory activities.
- The new appointments include Duncan Au, Carey Arnett and Theresa Watson, each appointed for a five-year term, and David Yager appointed for a two-year term. Current directors Corrina Bryson, Gary Leach and Allison Rippin Armstrong will remain on the board, with David Goldie continuing as chair until Aug. 31. Duncan Au will take over as chair on Sept. 1.

## New board member biographies:

Mr. Duncan Au (incoming chair effective September 1, 2024; will serve as a board director until August 31, 2024)

- Mr. Au is a Fellow of Chartered Professional Accountants and Chartered Financial Analyst with more than 30 years of corporate finance and energy services experience.
- He is the former president and CEO of CWC Energy Services Corp. and has a deep understanding of the recent Site Rehabilitation Program, oilfield services and large organization efficiencies.
- Mr. Au has also served on the Board of the Canadian Association of Energy Contractors (CAOEC), Energy Services Association of Canada (Enserva, formerly PSAC), Calgary Economic Development, and was on the Board of Governors for the Canadian Energy Executive Association (CEEA).

#### Ms. Carey Arnett

- Ms. Arnett has more than 20 years of management experience in the energy sector.
- She is the former president & CEO of pipeline construction firm, Arnett & Burgess
  Pipeliners Ltd. (now Arnett & Burgess Energy Services), which has operated in Alberta
  since 1957.
- Ms. Arnett was chair of the Canadian Energy Pipeline Association Foundation and president of the Calgary Petroleum Club.
- She possesses extensive knowledge and experience in oilfield services, pipeline construction and pipeline integrity and decommissioning.

#### Ms. Theresa Watson

- Ms. Watson has more than 30 years of experience in the energy sector as a
  professional engineer. She also has a law degree and has published legal research in
  the area of environmental liability.
- She previously served as a board member of the Energy Resources Conservation Board (ERCB) from 2009 to 2013, the predecessor of the Alberta Energy Regulator.
- Ms. Watson previously served on the council of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA).
- She is an expert in wellbore integrity, well abandonment, reclamation and liability.

## Mr. David Yager (non-voting)

- Mr. Yager has more than 50 years experience in the upstream oil and gas industry and has been a longtime writer, commentator and energy policy analyst.
- He was the founder, executive officer and director of three publicly traded oilfield service companies specializing in wellbore construction, completion, remediation, abandonment, production optimization, regulatory compliance and the physical protection of workers, assets and the community.

• He served as chair of the Premier's Advisory Council on Alberta's Energy Future and chair of the Petroleum Services Association of Canada (Enserva, formerly PSAC).

## **Related information**

• Alberta Energy Regulator

## **Media inquiries**

#### **James Snell**

780-850-6467 Press Secretary, Energy and Minerals

View this announcement online Government of Alberta newsroom Contact government Unsubscribe